Safety Features, Crash Tests, and Total Effective Control Technology

By admin Dec27,2023

Amidst the set-up of Bharat NCAP safety ratings, Maruti Suzuki, India’s biggest car manufacturer has released an internal test of Maruti Suzuki Fronx. Maruti Suzuki says that their cars go through as many as 50 crash tests before arriving in the showrooms.

The internal crash test includes multiple tests. The test includes front and side impact assessments in accordance with Indian regulations. The video shows how Maruti Suzuki focuses on creating a secure cabin while ensuring that the crumple zones are designed to absorb the impact. The design is done to ensure maximum safety for the occupants during the crashes.

Post the initial crash tests, as many as 50 tests are done to ensure safety. After the test, every part of the cabin is evaluated to increase the vehicle’s overall safety. These tests do not carry any score like the NCAP ratings though. Instead, these crash tests are done for internal tests and to further design a safe car.

What are crumple zones?

Suzuki car designs prioritize safety with the implementation of crumple zones. These zones are engineered to absorb maximum energy during an accident, effectively protecting the occupants of the vehicle. The engineering philosophy revolves around maintaining a safe zone between the two crumple zones, ensuring that it remains intact even in severe crashes. This focus on safety is evident in all Suzuki cars.

Crumple zones are strategically positioned to be the first point of impact in an accident. They are incorporated into all modern cars and are designed to crumple easily, thereby absorbing energy during a collision. By absorbing energy, crumple zones enhance passenger safety. The cabin, on the other hand, is designed to resist easy crumpling after an impact. This design feature is crucial in preventing passengers from being crushed following an accident.

What are safe zones?

The cabin is made out of stronger steel so that it does not crumple and keeps the passengers safe. This is designed like a cage so that the impact from either way is absorbed well by the vehicle but keeps the passengers safe.

If the crumple zones are not present, the chassis of the car takes the load, which then transfers to the occupants causing serious injuries.

The Fronx, built on the Heartect platform co-designed with the Baleno premium hatchback, is the latest car to embody Suzuki’s Total Effective Control Technology (TECT). The car boasts an inclusive suite of modern safety features, including front, side, and curtain airbags, ABS with EBD, pedestrian protection compliance, and ISOFIX mounts for child seats. The new Maruti Suzuki Fronx also offers premium safety features such as a 360-degree parking camera, hill hold assist, head-up display, and electronic stability program.

Maruti Suzuki Fronx prioritizes safety and security with its three-point ELR seat belts, auto-dimming inside rearview mirror, and Suzuki Connect telematics system. The Suzuki Connect telematics system provides additional safety features across various models, including breakdown notifications, emergency alerts, stolen vehicle notification and tracking, geofence, immobilizer, and safe time alert, among others.

While the Vitara Brezza earned an impressive four-star rating in the Global NCAP crash tests, other Maruti Suzuki models didn’t see similar results.

Multiple Maruti Suzuki cars will go through Bharat NCAP crash tests. While it is not mandatory, Maruti Suzuki will voluntarily do the crash tests. The results of these crash tests are likely to arrive by next year.

By admin

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *